The world is a book, and those who do not travel read only one page.
Saint Augustine
Our Lady of the Angels School
Old Town Albuquerque

The docent-led tour of Old Town includes a stop at Albuquerque’s first public school building.

The narrow two classroom school was built by the Jesuit Fathers in 1877 and, at the time, was the only public school in the city.

Sister Blandina and two other nuns of Our Lady of the Angels Church assumed teaching duties at the school in 1881, relieving the Jesuit Fathers of the task. Although it was an all boys school, all of the teachers were nuns.

The building is one of the least altered buildings in Old Town. The cupola high atop the building, intended to house a school bell, has always been empty because of a lack of funds. The building was also Albuquerque’s first YMCA, but today is the site of a Trader Barb’s jewelry gallery.

Next stop on Old Town Walking Tour - Jesus Romero House
Website Builder